Advice for starting with 1 player?

Due to unavoidable scheduling difficulties, I’m going to be starting a Blades mini-campaign with just one player. (Two more players will be joining for sessions 2 and session 3, the conclusion.)

I’m a veteran GM of many a system, and I’ve GM’d for one player before in other systems (including both Fate and AW). But I’ve never run Blades, let alone for one player.

I’ve read all the general excellent advice here and I’ll be using some simplified versions of the playbooks and crew books (courtesy of McGravin) to emphasize good starting options.

Is there any special advice y’all have regarding Blades for One?

(Also: paging Robins Laws for a Blades One2One book. Heh!)

1 Like

Have them run two characters. You won’t get the neat interpersonal RP that you usually get with players interacting with each other, but you will get to take advantage of the teamwork mechanics, and a lot of the system will work a lot better than with just one PC.

2 Likes

Agree that the teamwork mechanics are important, but concerned that two playbooks may be overwhelming for one player.

Would it be feasible to allow “teamwork” between the PC and the Crew? I was thinking that an advantage of the one player game is that the single PC can interact with the Crew, and boss them around, a lot more than in a multi-player game… because it won’t be taking spotlight away from any other players.

By the rules, the PC orders the Crew around with Command or takes Actions alongside them; or the Crew when acting alone rolls using their Tier, etc. But would anything serious break if I use Teamwork, treating the Crew as the other PC?

As written, the Crew is more of a template that applies to all the PCs collectively; NPC members are covered mainly by Cohort upgrades (either gangs of lower ability NPCs, or individual Expert NPCs). Give them a gang of thugs they can command, or an expert they can turn to for assistance and advice.