BitD Rules FAQ / Clarification Reference Doc

I write FAQs when I’m learning a topic, and so BitD got the same treatment. This is the rules Q&A I wrote for my playgroups, and I thought others may benefit from it here. Many of these come from rules discussions on this forum and Reddit (especially posts by John Harper and Sully5443), so thanks to those I nabbed these answers from! Some of the “rulings” are based on what seemed to be the community’s consensus, and I tried to reflect when multiple approaches can be taken. I’m still learning this system, so please call out any errors or confusing text so I can fix them, or suggest Q&As to add.

== BLADES IN THE DARK RULES FAQ ==

Do downtime activities use action rolls?

Some downtime activities call for rolling an action, like working on long-term projects, reducing heat, and healing with TINKER. These are treated as fortune rolls with dice pools equal to the action’s rating. Position and effect do not apply to these rolls and cannot cause consequences or harm.

Do downtime actions rolls have position and effect?

Downtime activities are essentially fortune rolls without position, effect, or negative consequences. The assumption is downtime activities are accomplished without taking risk, and the worst a player can suffer is a lesser result or slower clock progress.

A GM may choose to bend these rules if in the fiction the character is exposing themself to risks during downtime. Maybe the GM introduces complications later during freeplay or a score due to the risky downtime activities.

If a downtime activity’s risks have immediate consequences, it may be worth discussing whether these actions would make more sense in freeplay where the GM has more narrative freedom to impose consequences and players can push themselves, take Devil’s Bargains, resist, and use teamwork.

Can you push yourself on a downtime action?