How to do a really good chase scene

Hi,
I’m relatively new to Blades and finding the mechanics works really well so far but - how do I do a good chase scene?
I’ve tried Racing Clocks with one for the Crew and another for the Bluecoats or whoever’s trying to catch them, but when rolling 3-5 dice at a time for the Crew the odds are they are going to roll 6s more often and not, and they get away easily! (esp if they are able to use team work).
I’ve tried giving the opposition a much smaller clock to fill and that helps a little, but seems inelegant.
Also if they can resist the consequences of a 4/5 roll by taking stress it again means the opposition are making no progress on their clock at all.
And how would you incorporate other actions into the chase instead of just bashing down a clock? How would gunfire work, or taking evasive action etc?
I’m interested to see what other people have done in chase scenes in Blades to bring them alive and any tips most appreciated! thanks

You might consider giving the crew only limit or no effect without setup actions because they are a tier 0 or 1 against tier 4 faction who case criminals for a living. This means less ticks on the clock per Action.

2 Likes

Don’t forget the importance of describing the action fully, letting consequences come out of the scene and add to it.

What I mean is – don’t just roll to bash down a clock – every roll has to be accompanied by an action in the fiction, grounded in the reality of the story. If there’s a carriage chase, and the crew rolls Finesse to escape, what are they doing? Lashing the goats to gain more speed? Hurling a trunk from the roof to block the street behind them? The action in the fiction allows them to roll. If they can’t think of a way to help, they don’t – and they don’t get a roll.