How to kill a ghost?

Hello,
I am planning my first Blades in the dark session and I am wondering how would my players kill a ghost? I understand that the Spirit wardens destroy the spirit before a ghost emerges, but if you were to encounter a ghost, how would you defeat it? Electroplasmisc weapons and arcane abilities are what can harm it, but I assume that’s very hard to achieve… So I wonder how do you destroy a ghost?

Also what would Spirit wardens do if they were to discover someone that hid a body in order to create a ghost of that person?
What do they do with people that create a lot of work for them?
Would they throw them in prison or kill them?

I understand that some aspects of the game are up to GM to decide, but I am new to RPGs and kinda freaking out, so any advice would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

1 Like

A table might decide that sufficient damage from electroplasm-infused weaponry and arcane abilities could “kill”/defeat a ghost. Maybe when you shoot a ghost with sparkcraft weapons, the spirit “remembers” what it was like to feel pain, and that memory is sufficient to dispel the creature’s essence.

But, honestly, I prefer running ghosts as truly dire threats that can’t be stopped through sheer force of arms. There are methods to defeat spirits, for sure, and those methods range from “temporary solution” to “permanent exorcism,” but “we fight it” is never the first or best choice. (Note that even the Cutter’s “Ghost Fighter” advancement makes special mention of restraining and capturing spirits.)

In my game, ghosts have been “defeated” by: using spells/sparkcraft to capture them in spirit bottles; tricking them into possessing a person/animal/object (and then chaining that person/animal/object up in a windowless cell); convincing them to haunt some other, more worthy victim; and agreeing to help the ghost carry out its twisted plans.

5 Likes