Inspiration needed for Western Front mission

Hi everyone,

I’m GMing two Band of Blades campaign — one with Shreya, the other with Zora. It’s going pretty well so far, and me and both player groups love it. I’ve been playing roleplaying games for more than 25 years and I find the game’s approach truly refreshing. Leading two games at once is a challenge, but they inform each other and help avoid over-preparing in favour for efficiency.

I’m wondering if I could get your help generating ideas for a Western Front mission both groups have chosen as their primary mission. Here’s the briefing, it’s a bit of a spin on a route recon scenario:

Operation Crimson Snake
Recon (Route)
Rewards: +1 Intel, -1 Time
Penalties: 1 Death (1 Morale) on next advance
Aldermani scouts informed the Legion that the Enemy had divided Its troops in three on the Western Front. While one group patrols the centre, two others block roads out of the Front on the northern and southern sides. For the Commander, this information confirms two things. First, the Enemy intends to trap the Legion and other remaining forces until It has enough troops to annihilate them. Second, It does not yet know in which direction the Legion will advance. If the Enemy could be tricked into redeploying Its troops, the Legion’s next advance would be less perilous. A squad must head South and provide the Enemy false information on the Legion’s next move.

One group opted to pretend scouting ahead for the Legion. They do a purposefully bad job at hiding their camps and marking their route South. The other created through a flashback false correspondence to commanders of the Eastern Armies indicating the Legion will follow after them. They look for opportunities to “lose” the correspondence to intelligent undead. In both cases, they face patrols of forces belonging to different Broken (Shreya/Blighter, Zora/Render).