Notecard Play Aid: Getting a Handle on Position/Effect

Being an artist, I ended up designing and printing out a variety of notecard-sized player aids for my group simply because the system has so many moving parts, which can seem overwhelming with the number of options available. Each card details one of the actions a player can take (Push, Devil’s Bargain, Resist, Flashback, etc). I was quite happy how effectively they worked in play!

So I also designed a bunch of notecards for myself with reminders of things like levels of Harm, the various Consequence options for rolls, etc. And because I was having such a difficult time wrapping my head around the Position & Effect resolution system in Band, I put together a notecard for that as well.

I’m posting the card here to see if I’ve missed or misunderstood anything before I print it out for play. Here’s how the card works:

1. Run through the list of Position modifiers to determine Position.
    1a) Determine what Harm/Consequences would be based on Position and Scale/Threat modifiers.
  2. Turn the card 90-degrees clockwise, run through the list of Effect modifiers to determine Effect level.
    2a) Determine the Ticks/Consequences for the opponent based on Effect level.
    –inform the players, discuss, make modifications as necessary–
  3. Based on the result of the roll, check either or both of the appropriate columns for outcome.

Obviously, I haven’t included “None” or “Exceptional” Effect levels (I can keep that in my head); I also know that Position outcome doesn’t have to be Harm (which, again, I can keep in my head…I put Harm on the card because math), and that a Setup is either Position or Effect, not both.