Pacing problem

Hey,

I have been GM-ing Blades for about 6 months now. I’ve also listened to a bunch of APs.

However, my group can’t seem to run things as fast. I hear that groups usually end up with 1-2 jobs per 3-4h session. We usually do maybe downtime + free play + beginning of job, or end of job + downtime.

I think I’ve identified the problem areas as follows:

• discussing approaches. This is the biggest problem. I just can’t seem to teach them how to let go of planning and just jump to the action. They come up with elaborate plans. They also spend quite some time arguing over what they want to do. Some are pushing for specific approaches, while others don’t know or want to talk more.
  • entanglements: Players don’t want to pay out the direct cost (Rep, Coin etc.) and instead opt to play out the scene. This ends up taking more time.
  • downtime: Players don’t know what they want to do, and it takes a bit more time.
  • free play: a lot of time is spent in gathering information/bartering for better pay.
  • setting density: we play in Planescape’s Sigil, so there is a bit more lore/fluff/backstory to be covered. This has been less of a problem lately, as the players are getting more comfortable with it.

I don’t want to paint the game as being unfun, as it is most definitely fun. I just wish I knew how to support them in jumping to the action and fun moments, and skipping the tedium

2 Likes

I will respond to a few of your points.

For pacing it was normal for our group to do one score per session. The only times that did not happen we did Zero scores. For those occasions the entire session was spent in downtime. Although we knew it was possible, it just never worked out to do 2 scores in a session.

Also, the only actual play I watched was the one GMed by John Harper on Twitch. They seemed to average 1 score every 2 sessions.