Pulling out of an engagement

The crew gathers info, chooses a plan - an Assault, supplies the details, loads up and makes the Engagement roll, and are now in the thick of the Score.

They now realize that they are way in over their heads. Maybe because their Gather Info was insufficient, or that they were betrayed.
Can they pull out (i.e. wind back the Engagement - “unengage”), or is it just tough luck?

The rules state that the crew can just give up on a score and go straight to downtime. They would still generate Heat and Entanglements, though.

Putting the fiction first, I’d rule that they would still have to play out any sort of escape or ‘disengagement’. One does not take a pot shot at Lord Scurlock and then expect to just slip away unscathed.

1 Like