Questions on gathering information

Hi everyone,

So I’m new to BitD- just played my first session last Saturday and we all LOVED it. But I’m still working out some stuff which I find unclear. One of those things is gathering information. I’d like to share my ideas with you, including a flow chart of the kind of step-by-step decision making a new GM may go through to manage gathering info in-game.

If anyone wants to add anything, or point out any flaws in my understanding of the game, that’d be a real help. Thanks in advance!

So here’s an example situation that sort of plays out my thinking on how gathering information can work…

The PCs have decided their OBJECTIVE . They want to send a message to the Red Sashes- this is their turf and they won’t be messed with.

They’ve decided their PLAN . They’ve going to Assault the faction’s lieutenant in broad daylight, leaving him for dead.

Now they need to find the missing DETAIL . Maybe they decide to hit him when he’s at his favourite gambling den, where he goes every afternoon after lunch- that is common knowledge after all.

They could then (and some suggest should ) jump straight into the ENGAGEMENT ROLL and the action.

But perhaps the PCs decide they want some more info. Maybe they want to know what his drink of choice is, or if he has a weakness for a particular card game. Ok, so they want to GATHER INFORMATION .

Let’s take the example of finding out if the NPC has a fondness for a particular drink. There are various fictional and mechanical possibilities:

Possibilities

This is common knowledge. They ask the GM. He or she tells them. Go to ENGAGEMENT .

This isn’t common knowledge, but shouldn’t be too hard to find out. They fictionally go to chat to the barkeep the day before the score, buy him a drink or two and casually mention they want to get their mate, the Mark , a bottle for his birthday. FORTUNE roll to determine how good the info is. Then on to ENGAGEMENT and the score.