Starting level for new characters

How do you deal with new characters being introduced to the game in terms of XP? When you have cohorts and experts, they rise in effectiveness in line with the crew’s Tier. Would you do the same for new player characters, so if someone dies for example and makes a new character, they start off with enough XP to reflect how far the crew has advanced and not leave them trailing behind the other players? Or just make them start off as total newbies?

I find giving everyone’s character time to shine is more important than XP count. Scores depend on teamwork, burning stress, and mad hijinks. So I don’t really worry about it. Plus characters get pretty tiresome when they collect too many upgrades, no room to grow.

But I like to negotiate: one special ability per trauma taken. If the player’s particularly itchy, offer two special abilities per trauma.

4 Likes

During my campaign, we introduced several new characters, from both new players as well as existing players bringing in additional characters. Each time we brought them in, they were just starting characters, no XP boost, and there was absolutely no problem. Unlike D&D, Blades is not the sort of game where XP balance or level parity is really important at all. But yes, spotlight time is very important.

3 Likes

Yeah, characters in Blades have a pretty level playing field - Tier is a much bigger indicator of effectiveness than a characters individual action dots and special abilities. I’ve never found this to be a problem, over multiple campaigns.

That said, if you or the rest of your table does find it to be a problem, it’s simple enough to give a character some extra abilities and action dots, and that won’t break the game either

1 Like