Tips and tricks for creating a successful FitD game

I think I have a fantastic idea for a FitD setting. I think it could be wonderful but I don’t know where to start when it comes to the actual hacking of Blades to make it attuned to my setting.
Are there any designers more experienced than I out there that could give me some tips and tricks to help me get started.

2 Likes

I’m not necessarily an experienced designer, but my FitD hack is far enough along that I’ve got some experience to share.

I would advise starting with big picture stuff, then drilling down to smaller and smaller details. What is the first major element that must change to fit your setting? Is it the playbooks? Is it the Stress system? The faction game? Identify the most important change and work through it.

Along the way, you’ll probably find that there are smaller systems that need to change, because of the changes you made to the bigger system. You’ll find that some systems need to be cut, entirely. In other cases, you’ll find that you might need to create a new system.

In my hack, Shatterkin, I started with two main areas of focus — the playbooks and the stress system. I had to make entirely new playbooks, representing the different types of evolving monsters you could have. Along the way, I realized that I’d have to change some of the Actions, and change how item loadout worked, and a bunch of other little details. With the stress system, I had to reframe it to represent the strength of the bond between the monster and the kid you’re playing as, which led to removing traumas, introducing a new system of rights/wrongs, replacing “indulge vice” with another system, and more. Though I started with just two main elements to rework, I ended up discovering dozens of alterations that I needed to make to fit the game I was making.

TL;DR - Start with big picture, and drill down to smaller details.

3 Likes