I’m very sorry if this is either a question that has been answered elsewhere on the forum or not appropriate for this board. The only answers I could find elsewhere on the Internet were second-hand/opinion rather than official rulings, and linked to G+ posts that are sadly no longer available since G+ closing.
Veteran advances are listed in the playbooks but not explained in the Blades book. They allow you to ‘choose a special ability from another source’ and have three boxes. The Internet consensus seems to be that this represents three opportunities to buy a move from another playbook for the same cost as a move from your own playbook (which makes sense as an interpretation, as the Hound has two dots to represent taking Ghost Hunter multiple times).
Nothing in the book specifies whether there are requirements for choosing these advances, but the name ‘Veteran’ suggests that they are intended for play later in the game.
Has there been any official clarification of these rules that is still online?