When PCs switch playbooks

Hello everyone! I’m kind of new to Blades in the Dark and am struggling with tying up a few loose ends in my knowledge. My question is this: Can a player who has already switched playbooks switch back to his original playbook?

Example: one of my players, who started out as a Leech, changed to a Hound to flush out what he said was his “support character” with some veteran skills from that play type. We’ve been playing the game for 6 episodes, and he asked me if he could change back to his leech with his new skills and action dots. Can he change back?

1 Like

Short answer, yes, if you allow it. But could you elaborate on his reasoning for switching in the first place? It sounds like if he only wanted a couple veteran advances, and if that’s true then there was no need to switch in the first place.

Certainly. He wanted to get Sharpshooter, Focused, and Survivor. Sharpshooter, so he could use firearms more effectively for crowd control or just regular ranged combat, Focused, also for more ranged and tracking support, and lastly Survivor, for that extra stress to burn. From there he can more easily take up the long-game, then swoop in after the battle with his Physicker and Alchemist skills to heal the party at HQ.
For context, IRL he’s kind of a loner, so he tries to avoid talking or situations with a lot of heavy combat, so he’ll usually be the sniper/lookout, using some sparkwright walkie-talkies he made after the 2nd episode to communicate with the team on the ground. I let some things slide as it’s a miracle I can have him play at all, but he asserted himself as more of a side character and he wanted his build to show that.