Your best devil's bargains

I’m pretty new to GMing Blades and I want to hear stories about the best devil’s bargains at your table! What was the situation? What was the bargain? How did it play out? What made it great?

My best so far happened early in my group’s first score. We started with the War in Crow’s Foot and the crew took a job from Baszo Baz to abduct Emeline—a corrupt bureaucrat responsible for channelling resources from Iruvian Consulate to the Red Sashes—and deliver her to the Lampblacks.

They decided to try to pick Emeline up right off the street on her way to the office, which seemed very risky but their whisper laid down some thick fog (with the tempest special ability) right off the bat and couple good rolls later it seemed like they might skate through the score with little trouble.

But then, one of the PCs was about to roll to trick Emeline into following them down an alley, and I offered the devil’s bargain, “The eldritch fog has attracted spectral attention,” and they took it… and then blew the roll.

Their position was desperate so I went hard and had the ghost of a Bluecoat fully manifest out of the fog ready to fight. It was a very exciting moment where things went from going very smooth to suddenly and completely off the rails. They ended up pulling it together and even bottling the spirit before fleeing the scene, and it became a defining moment early on establishing the stakes during scores.

5 Likes

My favourite devil’s bargains so far have been to do with increasing chaos or pulling in rivals.

A classic is “the curtains catch on fire”. It’s incidental, so players always go for it, and it gives me a tasty “the fire spreads” clock that I can advance on misses/mixed success. A raging fire in the background makes everything more exciting, but doesn’t slow down the action.